Atmospheric Fall Book Recommendations 📚🍂

With Halloween right around the corner, I wanted to recommend some atmospheric or cozy fall reads! As someone who doesn’t read much horror, it always feels like my go-to reads always end up being the ones that are more quiet and magical! ☕🍂

The books I’m recommending today are a mix of favorites and unread TBR books that I think capture that autumn aesthetic!

Enjoy today’s recommendations and let me know if any of these are on your Fall to-read list! 💕

1. A Dash Of Trouble by Anna Meriano (Love Sugar Magic #1)

Why: Leo’s family owns the beloved Amor y Azúcar Panadería where the women in family have run it for generations! The wonderful messages woven in about friendship and above all, family make this a captivating, magical read for the fall season. As Leo learns more about her family’s bruja abilities, we learn that their delicious baked goods are woven in with a pinch of magic. Meriano’s great writing, unique magic system, and heartwarming messages make this a perfect read for fall! I’m really looking forward to continuing the series, I love it! 🥐💞

Summary: Leonora Logroño’s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual Dia de los Muertos festival.

Leo hopes that this might be the year that she gets to help prepare for the big celebration—but, once again, she is told she’s too young. Sneaking out of school and down to the bakery, she discovers that her mother, aunt, and four older sisters have in fact been keeping a big secret: they’re brujas—witches of Mexican ancestry—who pour a little bit of sweet magic into everything that they bake.

Leo knows that she has magical ability as well and is more determined than ever to join the family business—even if she can’t let her mama and hermanas know about it yet.

And when her best friend, Caroline, has a problem that needs solving, Leo has the perfect opportunity to try out her craft. It’s just one little spell, after all…what could possibly go wrong?

2. Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yee

Why: Set around Halloween, Lora feels like everyone around her is changing and growing up! But, then she meets a friendly ghost named Alexa who reminds her that there is still wonder in childhood nostalgia and imagination! I said this in my review, but its true this graphic novel is like a comforting hug, the complicated feelings that Lora navigates alongside her friendship with Alexa is so beautifully done (its one of the many highlights of this book). This book is a mix of paranormal/fantasy and at its heart, is a wholesome + thought-provoking exploration about navigating the trials and pains of growing up! Highly recommend this one!

Summary: Lora doesn’t want to grow up! Afraid that she is the magic of her childhood, Lora will do anything to stop it . . . including befriending Alexa, the ghost who haunts her house. A middle-grade graphic novel that focuses growing up and what that means for you and all the relationships you have in your life. This book is perfect for fans of Ghosts and Making Friends.

Growing up sounds terrible.

No one has time to do anything fun, or play outside, or use their imagination. Everything is suddenly so serious. People are more interested in their looks and what others think about them than having fun adventures. Who wants that?

Not Lora.

After watching her circle of friends seemingly fade away, Lora is determined to still have fun on her own. A tea party with a twist lease Lora to discovering Alex, the ghost that haunts her house — and Lora’s old imaginary friend! Lora and Alexa are thrilled to meet kindred spirits and they become best friends . . . but unfortunately, not everything can last forever.

3. Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Why: I have not read this one yet, but from all the fantastic things I’ve heard, especially when it comes to the dynamic between Yadriel, Julian and Maritza has me even more excited for this book! I mean a brujo summons a ghost that won’t leave him alone, also set during Día de Muertos? That screams all the major fall vibes!!

Summary: When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his true gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free.

However, the ghost he summons is actually Julian Diaz, the school’s resident bad boy, and Julian is not about to go quietly into death. He’s determined to find out what happened and tie off some loose ends before he leaves. Left with no choice, Yadriel agrees to help Julian, so that they can both get what they want. But the longer Yadriel spends with Julian, the less he wants to let him leave.

4. The Deathless Girls by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Why: So not only is this a SAPPHIC retelling of the Brides Of Dracula, but Hargrave’s writing truly evokes that whimsical style of old fairytale books! In recent years, this is probably one of my favorite YA paranormal/fantasy standalones! While this is definitely a more darker fall read and despite the topics it follows, at its heart its a moving story about the bonds between sisters. This is a book I feel has ABSOLUTELY gone under the radar and its one of my all-time favorites! (Read my detailed book review).

Summary: They say the thirst of blood is like a madness – they must sate it. Even with their own kin.

On the eve of her divining, the day she’ll discover her fate, seventeen-year-old Lil and her twin sister Kizzy are captured and enslaved by the cruel Boyar Valcar, taken far away from their beloved traveller community.

Forced to work in the harsh and unwelcoming castle kitchens, Lil is comforted when she meets Mira, a fellow slave who she feels drawn to in a way she doesn’t understand. But she also learns about the Dragon, a mysterious and terrifying figure of myth and legend who takes girls as gifts.

They may not have had their divining day, but the girls will still discover their fate...

5. Wandering Witch: The Journey Of Elania Vol. 1 by Jougi Shiraishi, Itsuki Nanao, and Azure

Why: Similar to Witch Hat Atelier, I think all the witchy manga is perfect for fall! The story sounds very immersive and magical read, especially as it follows a witch who embarks on an adventure! This just sounds so fun, magical, and light-hearted?? Elania has always dreamed of becoming a witch, now that she is one she wants to travel the world! This also recently got an anime, so I may just end up watching it first, but I’m looking forward to seeing all the different adventures and people Elania encounters on her travels!

Summary: Ever since she was a little girl reading books of magic and adventure, Elaina has dreamed of following in the footsteps of her childhood idol, the witch Nique, and living a life of travel.

Now a full-fledged witch herself, Elaina sets off on a journey without a destination, wandering far and wide to see the world. With each new place she sees and person she meets, Elaina’s world grows a little bit richer. 

There’s my list of atmospheric reads for the fall! 🍂📚✨

Have you read any of these books? What are some atmospheric or cozy reads on your TBR?

5 thoughts on “Atmospheric Fall Book Recommendations 📚🍂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s