Flying Witch Volume 1 by Chihiro Ishizuka {Manga Review}

Flying Witch Volume 1 by Chihiro IshizukaFlying Witch Vol. 1 by  Chihiro Ishizuka {Flying Witch #1}

Publisher: Vertical Comics

Release Date: March 8, 2017

Pages: 160

Summary: Prepare to be Bewitched!
Makoto Kowata, a novice witch, packs up her belongings (including her black cat familiar) and moves in with her distant cousins in rural Aomori Prefecture, in the far north reaches of Japan, to complete her training and become a full-fledged witch.

My Rating:★★★★☆ ½

My Thoughts: Flying Witch explores magic in the quiet, but normal everyday while also being comedic and heartwarming as Makoto continues her training to become a witch!✨

This manga was the cutest!! ❤ (´▽`ʃƪ)
From page 1 I could really sense the magic. Its a “quiet” type of magic that I enjoy reading about and overall made this story a real treasure.

I adored the characters and loved how, while it has magical elements stuck to a more “slice of life” approach.

It had a slow pace to it, but it really worked with the tone of story. It gives you the time to understand these characters, the magic that is infused throughout the story, and really take in the plot.

The characters were all fantastic! I adored Makato, Nao, Chinatsu, Kei, basically everyone ❤

Makato finds herself moving in with her cousins as she continues her training to become a witch. Throughout the manga, there’s tidbits of info that get revealed about the history and traditions of witches (the age they are recognized as adults, which regions of Japan they reside in, etc.) and I loved how it introduced more background of the witches and above all really helped to build the magic of the story.

I adored the friendship that develops between Makato and Nao!~ I loved their dynamic, but I do wish Nao was in the story a little bit more.

The story heavily focuses on family and self-growth and I adored that. While its clear Makato may still have a lot to learn, it was great seeing her have family and friends along the way to join her on her journey.

The artwork is simplistic, but really delivers the “quiet” and magical atmosphere of the story.

The plot itself goes in places I didn’t really expect, but I loved that! It kept me intrigued in the story, world, characters, etc. Additionally there are some hints and surprises that have me so excited to read Volume 2!

My only minor issue was that I did want more plot-wise.

Regardless…

Flying Witch Volume 1 is a story that proves magic is everywhere around you. The characters, plot, and world are wonderfully developed and truly deliver a sense of wonder and enchantment from the very first page.

Leave a Reply

