Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo Review {Spoiler-Free}

Crooked Kingdom Sept. 27, 2016Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (Six Of Crows #2)

Publisher: Henry Holt &Co.

Release Date: September 27, 2016

Pages: 546

Summary: When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

My Rating:★★★★☆ ½

My Thoughts: An epic finale to a truly magical and fantastical duology! ✨🏰

While I really loved Six Of Crows Crooked Kingdom delivered so much more in terms of character development and world-building.

Each character goes on their own journey and while each of them are unique + different in their own way, the friendships they forge among each other shows how much they care for each other and would sacrifice for one another, despite their vast differences and the obstacles that stand in their way.

As with SOC, we get an even more in depth look into the mind of the SOC crew through the 3rd person narrative + a more in depth look at the schemes + tactics that rule Ketterdam.
In Six Of Crows, while I could understand the basics of the world I found I needed more in terms of descriptions + world building to really get a better grasp on Ketterdam.

Ketterdam, in my opinion, was more developed and the world building continued to the very end!

I could really picture the setting and atmosphere of this world so much more because additional locations were included and from each character’s POV, I was able to view Ketterdam from their eyes which really made the world feel more richer and developed.

As for plot, its as complex and immersive as Six Of Crows with twists/turns, action, and genius+devious planning at every turn.

The only minor issues I have is little moments of slow pacing.
+ Just wanting more POV from Kaz! He his such a complex+fascinating character & I just wanted a few more chapters from him!!

Overall I’m sad this series has come to an end! But I’m happy to have been on this incredible journey with this wonderful cast of characters! ❤

Crooked Kingdom delivers non-stop action, character+ world development doesn’t stop for a second and Bardugo concludes the tale of the SOC crew magnificently!

+ Keep an eye on the blog for a Crooked Kingdom Playlist! ✨😄🎧

Have you read Crooked Kingdom? 

Let’s Discuss In The Comments Below  🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo Review {Spoiler-Free}

  1. I haven’t read it yet but I really want to by the end of October. I went to the bookshop to buy my copy, but they didn’t have the size that I wanted! I was so disappointed. I probably have to order from BD, and that might take awhile.

    Great review though! I’m glad that CK builds on SoC, and I’m very excited to read it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

