PS I Like You by Kasie West Review

PS I Like YouP.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Publisher: Point

Release Date: July 26, 2016

Pages: 304

Summary: Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds thatsomeone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

My Thoughts: A perfect YA Contemporary for fans of the 90’s classic You’ve Got Mail!

I absolutely loved my first Kasie West book!

This novel centers around Lily, an aspiring singer/songwriter, who begins writing on her desk in chem. class & begins getting responses from a mysterious pen pal. Soon, the two begin exchanging letters back and forth.

I loved reading the letters/messages exchanged back and forth + how they instantly connected over their love of music.

It was interesting to see how Lily was with words in her letters vs. how shy/witty she could be in person. Overall I really related to Lily b/c similar to her love of music yet being nervous/scared to share her songs, I love writing & reading + can find it quite nerve-wracking sharing my stories/ideas!

Every character is written so well. Lily was quirky/awkward (in the best way possible!!)+ her wit/sarcasm seriously had me laughing throughout this whole book (+ I related to her so much b/c we have a similar sense of humor :’))

I loved all the side/supporting characters like David, Lucas, Isabels boyfriend Gabriel + Isabel ❤ ❤

It was fun trying to solve the mystery  with her of who the pen pal was! With each guy she would casually mention I would try to figure out if it was him! But when its revealed who it really is I was so surprised! Didn’t see that coming!!

Then it becomes a mystery for Lily figuring out whether he knows or not.
Lily then begins to know her pen pal in real life & realizes she may be falling for him!

+ I loved how Lily’s family was such a big part of this story. Similar to Lily, my family can be pretty crazy but it was great reading about just how connected they are + the traditions that make them such a unique/quirky, but overall supportive & loving family!!

The way the plot unfolds is very realistic & the elements of mystery keep the story fun & interesting!
The ending left me wanting more from these characters!!

Overall a YA Contemporary with humor, song lyrics galore + the perfect amount of mystery to keep you wondering who Lily’s mysterious pen pal is.

 

 

Leave a Reply

