The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace Review

The Princess Saves Herself In This One CoverThe Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace

Publisher: CreateSpace

Release Date: April 23,2016

Pages: 156

Summary: “ah, life-
the thing
that happens
to us
while we’re off
somewhere else
blowing on
dandelions
& wishing
ourselves into
the pages of
our favorite
fairy tales.”

a poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

My Thoughts:

 ✨👑 “The princess rose from the ashes…& crowned herself…” ✨👑

The title alone had me intrigued and I am not much of a poetry reader, but I knew this would not disappoint!
I am so glad I picked this up! After finishing this in practically one sitting, I know I will be picking it up again in the future, b/c while short each and every poem has such a deep and emotional story weaved into it.

Told in 4 parts The Princess,The Damsel, The Queen & You, took me on quite an emotional journey.

I did not expect these poems to be so dark! (abuse is mentioned/discussed)
But as I continued to read, I knew exactly where this novel was headed.

I found the overall message to be, regardless what travesties transpire, you can always do something about it and not let it get in your way!
You are the hero of your own story!

By the end that was the powerful message I took away from these remarkably crafted poems!

There are many themes explored such as abuse, grief/acceptance, love, independence, feminism etc. that evoke such deep and raw emotions!

Through out each and every poem the words flowed perfectly and charted quite emotional journeys throughout!

The overall messages I took away from this are ones I will never forget!

If you are looking for deep, dark, but hopeful and inspiring poetry I highly recommend this one!
It will leave you speechless!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

