When We Collided by Emery Lord Review

When We CollidedWhen We Collided by Emery Lord

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Release Date: April 5, 2016

Pages: 352

Summary: We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

My Thoughts: I’ve only read one other Emery Lord book, The Start Of Me & You!

Comparing the two, I realize that what makes her books so great is how realistic and flawed she makes her characters!

This can definitely be seen by the family issues that the characters encounter in the novel!

+ I also loved how Vivi/Jonah’s relationship developed! It was quite a unique development & I loved reading every moment of it!

Through her writing she truly paints Jonah/Vivi’s worlds & how much they change each other as the story progresses!

I really loved the descriptions of Verona Cove! I truly felt I could immerse myself in the setting and picture the diner, the beach, etc.

Emery did a wonderful job at differing Jonah/Vivi’s POVs. I felt I could truly understand each of them & the issues/problems they were working so hard to fix!

+ family is such a huge part of this novel and is done wonderfully + side characters you don’t expect, become such integral parts of the story too!

I did take away a star b/c at points I found it difficult to connect/follow Vivi’s POV

b/c she just has a lot going on in her head at once.

+ by the end when Vivi decides to move, I found her letter/gift to Jonah beautiful but the abrupt ending bittersweet 😥

Overall this novel took me by surprise!

Jonah and Vivi find each other when they need it most and help each other to overcome their personal obstacles!

If you loved/read I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, I think you would really enjoy this novel too b/c of the similar writing style & character dynamics!

+ if you are looking for a YA Contemporary w/ discussion of mental illness + beautiful writing, I highly recommend When We Collided!

2 thoughts on “When We Collided by Emery Lord Review

Leave a Reply

