The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi Review

The Star-Touched QueenThe Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Publisher: St.Martin’s Griffin

Release Date: April 26, 2016

Pages: 352

Summary: Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets — thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most. . .including herself.

My Rating:  Full StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

***Spoilers Ahead***

My Thoughts: *Sill deciding between 4/4.5!

The Star-Touched Queen was a poetic and exquisitely written debut!

I can’t count the number of times when I found myself highlighting sentences and passages!

What really is the heart and soul of this story is both the main character Maya and the world!

I really connected with her and truly felt she came to life from page one!

She goes through quite a transformation in this book! While feared, she still has her flaws. Along her journey, she comes to grow and learns what it means to be a ruler.

Through the writing-style you really get a grasp of the world and feel transported to the many places Maya lives in/travels to such as Bharata, Akaran + the Night Bazaar!

I also loved Amar! He was a wonderfully-written character! I loved how Roshani hid secrets from us in terms of his character and how they played a vital role as the book progressed. However, I wish we learned more about him, because while Maya takes center stage, when certain events happen he is not present as much and I almost forgot about him as the story continued.

Not having much background on Indian folklore/mythology, it was great to learn more about it through this novel!

I will admit, I was unaware that this book would essentially be split into two parts:

1.Maya and her journey to Akaran 

+

2.Her journey back to Bharata but with much time passed/finding a way to save Amar!

Wanting to essentially  go in blind, I only remembered a few key facts of the plot, so I assumed Amar would be more of a central character to the story! But to my surprise, it went in completely different directions than what I was expecting!

While I really loved it, there was one aspect of the novel that made me take away a star! The plot was somewhat lost on me when I reached the “second half” and characters were introduced/expanded on.

But I suppose that is also what made me really enjoy it as well b/c it was both unexpected and added a unique twist to the story ❤

Overall this was a magnificent debut!

Seamlessly weaved mythology and poetic writing deliver a tale unlike anything I’ve ever read before and a truly magical story I will never forget!

Highly recommend if you love YA Fantasy/ YA Mythology, or are looking for not only a unique and character-driven story, but also rich and vivid world building !

*Side note: I loved the inclusion of chapter titles <3!

If you’ve read The Star-Touched Queen or are planning to, let me know your thoughts in the comments below! 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi Review

  1. I’ve read this one too and I agree with Maya and the world being the heart and soul of this book. Although, I kind of got lost in some parts (too much vivid description of the setting) but it isn’t such a bad thing. I also love the cultural reference in the book with the wedding ceremonies and all. #Commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

