Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell Review

Kindred Spirits.jpgKindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: Macmillans Kids UK

Release Date: February 25, 2016

Pages: 96

Summary: ‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

My Thoughts:

Being one of my all-time favorite authors, I will literally buy/read ANYTHING Rainbow Rowell writes! ❤ ❤

Honestly the only movie I’ve seen in its entirety is The Force Awakens, but I also have general knowledge of Star Wars. With that, I’m glad I was able to understand most of the references!

Over the length of 4-days, Rowell tells the story of Elena who is a huge fan of Star Wars and camps-out for the premiere of TFA, while befriending people in line. (Troy & Gabe)

In true Rainbow Rowell fashion, her writing style creates complex characters and a plot that feel so real!

+ she is a master at expressing fandom culture/fandoms!! ❤ 

While this is a short-story, it was great to see character development! (Gabe getting to know Elena as he story progressed)

I only had basic knowledge of the plot of this sort story, so I wouldn’t get spoiled, so I did not expect Elena’s camp out to be the opposite of what she expected!

But that is honestly what made the story so much more enjoyable!

With that, we learn more about her father and how he contributed to her love of Star Wars + how his absence has made her love for Star Wars much more stronger!

As I’m sure many other readers of Kindred Spirits will agree w/ is:

I wish this story was longer!!

With any Rainbow Rowell story, she always ends it when we want more!!

I did take away a star b/c:

I wish Elena talked more w/ Gabe!

They only started talking more toward the end of story a little while before they got into the movie + once they’re actually in the theater!

By the end, when Gabe+Elena fall asleep during the movie, Gabe offers her a ticket so they can watch it again!

Its obvious there is a friendship/relationship developing between the 2 & it sucks the story ended where it did!

Overall this was a lovely short story from Rainbow Rowell +

I really wouldn’t mind reading a full length novel on these characters!!

If you’ve read Kindred Spirits, let me know your thoughts in the comments below! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

