Thanks For The Trouble by Tommy Wallach Review

Thanks For The Trouble.jpgThanks For The Trouble By Tommy Wallach 

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Release Date: February 23, 2016

Pages: 352

Summary: “I’ve got some questions for you. Was this story written about me?”

I shrugged.

“Yes or no?”

I shrugged again, finally earning a little scowl, which somehow made the girl even more pretty. It brought a bloom to her pale cheeks and made sharp shelves of her cheekbones.

“It’s very rude not to answer simple questions,” she said.

I gestured for my journal, but she still wouldn’t give it to me. So I took out my pen and wrote I can’t on my palm.

Then, in tiny letters below it, I finished the thought: Now don’t you feel like a jerk?

Parker Santé hasn’t spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he’ll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for.

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

My Thoughts:

This book was spectacular!! Definitely a new favorite of mine!

Having read Tommy’s previous/debut novel We All Looked Up, what I loved about it so much was not only his writing style, but how he writes/develops his characters so realistically!

Parker doesn’t speak, but is an exceptional writer, much like his late father.

There are chapters in which Parker writes short stories. I’m a big fan of “stories within stories” & they never distract from the overall plot and I felt they really paralleled moments in the novel.

While at a hotel he meets Zelda Toth. The two make a pact and the story goes from there.

Parker was an amazing main character. He was very wise & sarcastic, even though he didn’t like to admit it. Because he didn’t speak, he used sign language to communicate. I felt this really gave much more depth to his character because while in his head, you really understand him much more by the end of the novel.

Zelda was wise beyond her years, but also was quite unpredictable. While she did speak her mind, there are moments in the story where you just don’t know what to expect from her.

While Zelda and Parker didn’t really see eye-to-eye on most things but as they got to know each other, both of them learned a lot.

Honestly, there was never a dull moment in this book!

The writing style not only kept me engaged, but had deep/honest and thought provoking moments that never felt forced and really flowed well with the tone of the book.

Overall this was a spectacular story and if you are looking for a unique and thought-provoking contemporary, definitely check this one out!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

