The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig Review

9780062380753The Girl From Everywhere (TGFE #1)

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: February 16, 2016

Pages: 464

Summary: Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.

As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.

But the end to it all looms closer every day.

Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.

For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters.

She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love.

Or she could disappear.

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

My Thoughts: There were so many great elements in this story!

1.The Overall Concept

Maps that can let one navigate to any place/any time?!?

I loved that from page 1!

2. Characters

My favorite character dynamic in TGFE was definitely Nix+Kash ❤ ❤

With each interaction and witty dialogue between the 2 of them, you can really tell they have a strong friendship!

With each and every other character Nix interacted w/, I truly felt I understood them by the end of the novel.

Nix overall was a well-developed character and the most complex relationship in this novel was definitely the relationship between her and her father, Slate.

They both have their own goals that they are set out on achieving and  can’t really see eye-to-eye, which brings a lot of issues that develop over the course of the story!

+ I’m all for diversity and almost all the characters are from a variety of cultural backgrounds!

3.Plot/Setting

What surprised me the most, which I loved, was the heist in this story!

I did not expect that at all, which really made me even more invested!

With this story being set mostly in 1800’s Hawaii, you definitely get lush and vivid descriptions + history/mythology seamlessly weaved into the plot!

My only minor issues which brought it down from 5-stars were:

1.Pacing

At some points I found the plot to be a little slow

2. Not enough traveling

I had only read the summary a few times and the only part of it which really stuck into my head before I started TGFE was “travel” so based on that aspect I expected more places to be explored!

Regardless of those minor issues, overall this was a lovely debut and I can’t wait for the sequel ❤ ❤

+ I also have a The Girl From Everywhere Desktop:

Feel Free To Download/Share! 🙂

The Girl From Everywhere Heidi Heilig Desktop Wallpaper.jpg

5 thoughts on “The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig Review

Leave a Reply

