Rebel Of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton ARC Review

9780451477538

Rebel Of The Sands (Rebel Of The Sands #1)

Publisher: Viking Books For Young Readers (PenguinTeen)

Release Date: March 8, 2016

Pages: 302 (ARC) 320 (Hardcover)

Summary: She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

 

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

My Thoughts: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull Starhalf star--Book Blog

So close to 5 stars, but still amazing all the same!

This book definitely takes you on an adventure!

Alwyn has forged a tale rich in politics, culture and magic.

With so much hype surrounding this books release, I was starting to worry if it would get to me, however while reading I pushed it all aside and ended up in awe of Rebel!

Amani really drives this story. Alwyn’s writing style really shows the reader just how strong, quick-witted, and clever this sharpshooter is.

The other main/supporting characters such as Jin, Tamid, and Shazad were wonderfully introduced and I’m eager to learn more about them in future books!

In terms of world-building, Alwyn does a fantastic job! With the first two chapters alone, I felt I really understood and was immersed in the desert nation of Miraji!

As the plot continued, Amani weaved in legends and stories of her past, which I felt added much more to Amani as a character and gave more background to Miraji.

In terms of plot, it went in directions I was not expecting! With Amani’s determination to escape Dustwalk, along the way her journey to freedom is impeded by a Sultan’s Army and a rebellion that begins to grow.

The unexpected plot points that definitely made this book even more fun, was the introduction/story of the princes and the Sultan’s Army that plans to take over Miraji. They were hinted at in the beginning, but I was unsure of where those plot points were headed. Another big plot point that also surprised me was that Amani herself was part Djinni! Again, Alwyn hints at it all throughout the story, but it isn’t until hidden truths are revealed that the world we thought we knew through Amani’s eyes, had really expanded.

This book definitely took my surprise! While I loved every moment of it, I did want more to the plot. By the end once I figured out where this story was headed, I just felt there needed to be more.

Overall this was an amazing debut!

Alwyn’s writing style introduces reader’s to a rich and exquisite world that reads like a film on the big-screen!

Amani Al’Hiza, is a fierce and determined heroine who I feel, will definitely resonate with many female readers, such as myself who see bits and pieces of themselves in this strong and witty sharpshooter!

If you love YA Fantasy, are looking for a story with non-stop action/adventure then definitely pick up this book!

If you’ve read/are planning to read Rebel Of The Sands, let me know your thoughts in the comments! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Rebel Of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton ARC Review

  1. I hear fantastic things about this one! Though it’s not out in my country yet (I know it’s out in UK), I’m excited for it. My friend, Becky @ Stories and Sweeties, really loved this one. Hopefully I’ll like it as much as you did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

