Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler Review

25223115Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary

Release Date: November 17, 2015

Pages: 348

Summary: Reagan Forrester wants out—out of her trailer park, out of reach of her freeloading mother, and out of the shadow of the relationship that made her the pariah of Charytan, Kansas.

Victoria Reyes wants in—in to a fashion design program, in to the arms of a cute guy who doesn’t go to Charytan High, and in to a city where she won’t stand out for being Mexican.

One thing the polar-opposite best friends do agree on is that wherever they go, they’re staying together. But when they set off on a series of college visits at the start of their senior year, they quickly see that the future doesn’t look quite like they expected. After two years of near-solitude following the betrayal of the ex-boyfriend who broke her heart, Reagan falls hard and fast for a Battlestar Galactica-loving, brilliant smile-sporting pre-med prospective… only to learn she’s set herself up for heartbreak all over again. Meanwhile, Victoria runs full-speed toward all the things she thinks she wants… only to realize everything she’s looking for might be in the very place they’ve sworn to leave.

As both Reagan and Victoria struggle to learn who they are and what they want in the present, they discover just how much they don’t know about each other’s pasts. And when each learns what the other’s been hiding, they’ll have to decide whether their friendship has a future.

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull Starhalf star--Book Blog

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

My Thoughts: Its official! After months and months I’ve finally read my first Dahlia Adler book and it was wonderful!

Reagan and Victoria’s friendship is tested when they prepare for college.

Similar to both Reagan & Victoria, I was anxious about college and starting a completely new chapter in my life. I also had some worries about this upcoming semester and while reading this book, it really reminded me that no matter at what stage of school I’m at,I can overcome my anxieties/worries!

Seeing how hard Reagan worked to get out of her small town was inspiring. At points it was sad to know that her parents weren’t supportive or helping her achieve her goals. But Reagan being tough and independent found her way through it, especially when it came to Fitz. When she meets Dev, she was unsure of her feelings for him. Slowly they develop a friendship and it becomes something more to both of them. While some issues come up w/ their developing relationship, I am glad to see everything is worked out in the end.

Reading about Victoria’s journey was also both inspiring and relatable. It was great reading about a Latina MC, considering I’m Latina myself. Reading about her journey to get into fashion yet being unsure due to other major options in mind was definitely something I really connected with.

This story is not only about friendship, but self-discovery and Dahlia makes those themes prevalent all through out this story!

If you are in the HS to College phase, currently in college yourself, or want a story about friendship, I highly recommend this book! ❤

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler Review

  1. Oh man! I don’t want to read your review because of the spoilers, but I saw your rating, and I’m now really excited for this one. It’s been on my TBR for a while (along with all of Dahlia’s books), but I just haven’t had time to read them. I think that I need to change that ASAP!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally understand! I don’t read reviews until I’ve finished the book cause I wouldn’t want to be spoiled either! 🙂 Dahlia’s other books have been on my tbr for a while too! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on Just Visiting when you get t it! Def. link me the review once you do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

