Winners Curse Trilogy Cover Change

Fierce Reads (Imprint of Macmillan) had news for fans of The Winners Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski today.

1.The Winner’s Kiss excerpt

& 2…..

Cover changes.

On twitter, people expressed their anger and disappointment over the cover change.

I was more an observer, but I too was disappointed.

The original covers portrayed this story and Kestrel (the main heroine) much better than the new covers!

Winners Trilogy

Also, the style/presentation of the original cover is what drew me to the trilogy in the first place.

People also compared the new covers to a now, quite popular fantasy series:

Marie Rutkoski Cover Change

Overall this cover change is a big let down 😥

Well there are many reasons for cover changes. Maybe the publisher wants to find a new/wider demographic? Or maybe the series wasn’t selling as much? Who knows :/

But looking at the positives, the story obviously isn’t changing so maybe a cover change isn’t so bad & I’m sure I can buy the books w/ the original cover online! 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts!

How do you feel about this cover change??

Are you a fan of this series & have thoughts on it??  🙂

***UPDATE: The publishers have kept the original cover for The Winners Kiss, but do plan to re-release The Winners Trilogy w/ the new covers!

**For The Winners Curse/Crime, the new paperbacks can now be found in stores

6 thoughts on “Winners Curse Trilogy Cover Change

  1. Pingback: What's Up in YA?
  2. Admittedly, I don’t like the copycat feel, but I much prefer the new covers. The old ones had far too modern dresses and just didn’t draw me in. I actually didn’t read this series for months because I felt like the covers told me a story I didn’t want to read. Then I started reading it for some reason or other and loved it. If I’d seen the newer covers, I wouldn’t have hesitated. She’s displayed much more powerfully.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

