Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo Review

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows #1)

Publisher: Henry Holt & Co. – Released: September 29, 2015

Pages: 465

six-crows-leigh-bardugo-coverSummary: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

My Rating: Full StarFull StarFull StarFull Starhalf star--Book Blog

***Spoilers Ahead***

My Thoughts: This book was incredible. While I did enjoy the Grisha Trilogy, what I felt was lacking was world-building. However in this book, Leigh’s world building really improved. What made this book much more entertaining was the incorporation of multiple POV’s. She was able to make each character unique and make them very complex.

Another aspect of this book that made me love it so much was the heist they were planning. I really love heist books/tv shows, like Heist Society by Ally Carter and the TV show White Collar 🙂 So, of course that is what made me love this book so much more.

Out of all the characters in this book, my favorites were Inej and Kaz. After reading this book, I obviously ship them <3.  Their dynamic and relationship that they had was wonderfully developed. With flashbacks we are able to see how they came to know each other and throughout this book we see how much they care for each other.

I did take away 1/2 a star because, I felt at times the plot was somewhat slow at some points and I wish there was a little more setting descriptions. But other than that, this was a fast-paced well-developed story and I can’t wait to read what happens next.

What did you think of Six of Crows ? 😀

2 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo Review

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book. I loved the intensity and intricacy of the plot and the third person narrative only helped further heighten the tension. Inej and Kaz are also my favourites and I hope that their connection is further explored in the sequel. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! 😀 I loved that it was in 3rd person too! It also helped to make it easier to understand each person’s POV. I can’t wait to see what happens between Kaz&Inej too! & I also loved the references to the Grisha Trilogy 😀 !

      Like

Leave a Reply

